Loading Events

« All Events

Cozy Nights, Warm Reads: LGBTQ+ Author Talks (A Series)

February 16, 2023 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Join us via Zoom for three months of reads that center the LGBTQ experience with warm, cozy stories about love, mystery, and friendship. Learn more and register

January 19: Devils’ Chew Toy with Rob Osler

Perfect for fans of T.J. Klune, Becky Abertalli, and David Levithan, this hilarious, big-hearted LGBTQ+ mystery follows an unlucky in love—and life—gay relationship blogger who teams up with a take-charge lesbian and a fiesty bull terrier to find a missing go-go boy and bring down an international crime ring.

 

February 16: Here for It with R. Eric Thomas

FINALIST FOR THE LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY TEEN VOGUE AND ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY O: The Oprah Magazine • NPR • Marie Claire • Men’s Health

R. Eric Thomas didn’t know he was different until the world told him so. Everywhere he went—whether it was his rich, mostly white, suburban high school, his conservative black church, or his Ivy League college in a big city—he found himself on the outside looking in.

In essays by turns hysterical and heartfelt, Thomas reexamines what it means to be an “other” through the lens of his own life experience. He explores the two worlds of his childhood: the barren urban landscape where his parents’ house was an anomalous bright spot, and the Eden-like school they sent him to in white suburbia. He writes about struggling to reconcile his Christian identity with his sexuality, the exhaustion of code-switching in college, accidentally getting famous on the internet (for the wrong reason), and the surreal experience of covering the 2016 election for Elle online, and the seismic changes that came thereafter. Ultimately, Thomas seeks the answer to these ever more relevant questions: Is the future worth it? Why do we bother when everything seems to be getting worse? As the world continues to shift in unpredictable ways, Thomas finds the answers to these questions by reenvisioning what “normal” means and in the powerful alchemy that occurs when you at last place yourself at the center of your own story.

 

March 16th: Precious and Adored; The Love Letters of Rose Cleveland and Evangeline Simpson Whipple, 1890–1918

Captivating letters, published in their entirety, that document almost thirty years of love between two women of the Gilded Age. We’ll be joined by editor, Lizzie Ehrenhalt

Programming provided by East Side Neighborhood Services and Rainbow Health